What Did You Do Today?

Is what you’re doing now getting you closer to where you want to be?

Honestly, is it? Look at what you did today. You woke up, got out of bed, then what? Maybe it’s easier to think of where you want to be first. Look at your life and think about what you wish it was. Would you rather be living somewhere else? Working somewhere else? What do you want to get out of this funny thing we call a lifetime?

I’ll tell you what I want. I want to glorify God through my music and my relationships with others. Practically, I hope that looks like writing and releasing my own music, leading worship, and loving each person I meet as Jesus does. Okay. Now, today I woke up, went to classes at a music center, had lunch, spent some time on Pinterest, went back to class, then analyzed a song I wrote to figure out what key it was in and what the chords were in the nashville number system. Then I talked to one of my best friends on the phone for an hour or so, did some dishes, then finished typing up the chord sheet for the song. Now I’m writing this blog post and thinking about the things I have left to do tonight, like cleaning the bathroom, putting in laundry, and restringing my guitar. Has this gotten me any closer to my dreams? Yes.

I hesitantly dedicated the school year of 2016-2017 to my music in the spring semester of 2016 when I got accepted into the music program here in Tennessee. It was hard. I had a lot of trouble making my own music a priority, balancing it with my classical music studies, work, friends, sleep, etc. I don’t want to talk about the free time crisis that many young adults find themselves in, I want to talk about the purpose of your time. This semester I could ration my time, giving a few hours to songwriting and producing, a few hours to Netflix, a couple hours to time exploring with friends. That’s what time management is, after all. It’s always been a struggle for me.

But lately I have realized that even time with friends or even an episode of Netflix can still help me get to where I want to go. I just need to make sure that is why I’m investing my time into it. Take today for example. I went to my classes to invest in my knowledge of the music industry and my own learning experience. I had lunch and time on Pinterest to take care of myself, feeding my stomach as well as giving my brain some time to think about things not connected to music. I went back to class. Then I invested in my songwriting. Then I invested in one of my best friends, a relationship that is incredibly important to me. Now, I’m processing to keep my mind healthy and focused. I’ll clean the bathroom and my clothes to take care of myself. Without taking care of myself I will have no reason to pursue my dreams, in fact, I will have no mind to pursue my dreams with.

Will time spent on Netflix or Pinterest or Facebook get me closer to my dreams of pursuing a place in the music industry? Well, if it is giving me a brain break, lulling me to sleep, or helping me network, maybe it is! But if it’s just taking up valuable time, then it’s not worth it. Today is a day that we will never get back. This is an hour we won’t be able to redo. Every minute that passes is a minute closer to the end. The end of the day, the week, the semester, the year. Each moment is valuable. Each moment is a possibility to further yourself, to bring yourself closer to your goals and your God.

Is what you’re doing now getting you closer to where you want to be?

Leave a Reply

