Fearless Pursuit: an idea, a blog.

So, just like every other student who has gone to study off campus, I started a blog. In case you didn’t know, I am studying at a small music school in Nashville, TN for this spring semester! Rad, right? Anyways, here I am, starting the typical off campus study blog. However, rather than using it to record all the incredible things I do I want to use it as a creative outlet. I might mention some of my escapades and adventures here in Nashville, but for the most part I want to be able to write about whatever is on my heart and mind. Quite honestly, posts could be about anything from writing music to God experiences to a joke I thought of. Mostly, I want to talk about being fearless.

As a teenager I quickly became aware of my own fearsome tendencies. I latched onto the Bible verse 2 Timothy 1:7 as a child and I still cling to it today. “For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” There are days that I have to whisper this verse under my breath constantly. There are days when I only think of it once or twice. But I still think of it every day. Every day. This is so important to me that I have it tattooed on my body. We are not meant to live in fear.

So, what did I do with this knowledge, this inherent nagging that fear is not a part of me? I have begun, day by day, to tell fear that it has no place in my life. Some days are harder than others, but some days are full of victory. One victory is this semester. I was terrified to even apply and audition for the CMC program. What if I didn’t get in? What if I did? Was I good enough? Could I even do this?

My dad has this question, a saying, if you will. What would you do if you were not afraid? What would you do if you were not afraid? I ask myself that question multiple times a day, chanting it like a mantra. Sometimes it makes decisions easier, sometimes it makes them harder. So, when I was looking into the CMC I decided to choose my dreams over my fear. I made a fearless choice. And I got accepted, drove down to Nashville, and here I am. I am in Nashville, living in music full time for the semester. I am in fearless pursuit of what sets my soul on fire.

One thought on “Fearless Pursuit: an idea, a blog.

  1. I love your title! I am so excited! I love watching God work in and through your life. I am so proud of you! You surely do “remember whose child you are” I love you so much! I pray for you and think of you every day. God give you a spirit of power! His power! Thank you for your willingness to be Gods instrument. You are Gods masterpiece!

    Like

Leave a Reply

